About Us

Frank D. Brown Achievement Award

Brown Award to Become Annual Tradition

The Frank D. Brown Achievement and Leadership Excellence Award was created on Jan. 7, 2008 by the Columbus State University Alumni Association to recognize an individual or an organization that exemplifies the outstanding leadership skills and ideals of Frank D. Brown, the third president of Columbus State University. Dr. Brown earned a reputation throughout the Columbus region as an outstanding servant leader and for fostering and promoting community collaboration and partnerships in the areas of education, culture and economic development.

The award is presented only when extraordinary achievement or service merits it. The Brown Award recognizes an organization, active or retired member of the faculty or staff, a non-graduate alumnus, or a supporter of Columbus State University who has made extraordinary contributions to educational excellence at Columbus State University or whose achievement has brought honor and distinction to Columbus State University.

Criteria for Brown Award Nomination

Nominees must:

  • Be an organization or individual supporter of Columbus State, other than a CSU graduate. (Former students who didn't graduate are eligible for nomination.)
  • Have provided substantial and sustained support for Columbus State or must have brought honor and distinction to CSU.
  • Have demonstrated exemplary leadership skills or accomplishments that serve as a model for the Columbus State University community.
  • Be held in high esteem by the Columbus State University community.

Nomination, Presentation Process

  • Nominations may be submitted until the January 31st deadline by anyone interested in Columbus State University.
  • Complete the online application here.
  • A completed copy of the nomination form and any supporting documentation nominators wish to provide must be sent to the Selection Committee to the address below or submitted online.
  • If not submitted online, completed nomination packages should be forwarded to:
    Brown Award Selection Committee
    Office of Alumni Engagement
    4225 University Avenue
    Columbus, Georgia 31907-5645

If a suitable recipient is found, the award will be presented at the President's Recognition Dinner, which will be held Thursday, April 19, 2018 in the Cunningham Center.

Previous Honorees

2009- William Bradley Turner, Sr.
2010- Marvin R. Schuster
2011- Thomas B. Black
2012- Paul S. Amos
2013- Carmen J. Cavezza
2014- James Kyle Spencer
2015 - George Stanton
2016 - Kayron Laska

2017 - Joe C. (Jay) Sparks